Mystery Pictures Revealed

For Chanukah, I drew* some pictures of Chanukah related items with a candle on cardboard**. Then, I let the kids paint the cardboard with foam brushes and watercolors. The pictures I drew were revealed to everybody’s delight***.

The wax from the candle acts like crayons to resist the water colors, but since it goes almost clear on the paper, the cardboard/paper has to be painted to reveal the pictures. As an added bonus- using a candle makes it more of a Chanukah craft. Right? ^_^

Oh, the thin candles break easily. It’s much easier to work with a thick candlestick.

Notes:

*I didn’t let them draw themselves to make it faster, and easier for everyone. It’s very hard to see what’s drawn on the paper, and I wanted to focus on revealing the pictures.

**I use cereal boxes and other lightweight boxes for different crafts, as they hold better than paper and cost nothing.

***It was mostly my delight, I suspect, but they were tired, it was early afternoon, they came back from preschool not long before that, so I should be satisfied with the cooperation I got. I’ll see how it goes when they are not so tired. I need to also try different types of paint.

Leave a comment

Filed under Activities for Kids, Crafts

Leave a Reply

